Before getting a pet

Before getting a pet

Things to consider

A chinchilla, a hamster, a turtle, a lizard, a rabbit and a cat

"Am I suitable to be a pet owner?" 

Before getting a pet, ask yourself the following questions. Press "Yes" or "No" as appropriate.

1. Are you allowed to keep a pet in the place you live in?

Make sure you check with the management office or the owners’ corporation before you get a pet to see if keeping of pets is allowed in the building / estate you live in.
Then you should NOT get a pet. The Subsidised Housing Committee of the Housing Authority endorsed at its meeting on 25 September 2003 to uphold the ban on dogs in public housing estates. Therefore, all public housing estates in Hong Kong do not allow the keeping of dogs. Many private housing estates also ban the keeping of dogs or other pets.
A residential building


2. Is your home spacious enough for keeping a pet?

A flat
Make sure your home has enough space for the pet to move around freely and the environment is pet friendly. The space requirement for keeping different species of animals is different. Large dogs may require more space to run around while cats or other small mammals may not need as much.
If your home has little space for the pet to move around freely or your family members do not like pets or have allergies to pets, then you should NOT get a pet.


3. Do all your family members agree to have a pet?

That’s great. If you get your family’s consent before getting a pet, they will feel respected and it will be easier for them to accept a new member into the family.
Then you should NOT get a pet. You and your family members might come into conflict because of the pet.
A girl playing with her cat


4. Are you prepared to take care of a pet for its entire life?

An old cat
If you get a pet, make sure you are committed to your pet for the rest of its life, which can last for a few years to ten or so years or more depending on the type of pet. Your pet, like humans, can get ill especially as it ages, you should seek veterinary attention and provide proper care to your pet at all times.
Then you should NOT get a pet. Depending on the types of pet, some pets can live up to 15 years or more. If you are not ready to make this commitment, then don’t get a pet.


5. Do you have time to take care of a pet?

Make sure you have enough time to take good care of the pet. You will need to spend up to a few hours a day to feed the pet and depending on the type of pet, you might need to bathe, groom, walk, train, exercise and play with it.
Then you should NOT get a pet. A pet needs attention and care, if you don’t have time for it, you should not get one.
A pet owner taking care of a kitten


6. Can you afford to keep a pet?

A vet examining a cat
Make sure you set aside money for your pet. You will need to pay for its food, supplies, vet bills, etc. A pet can cost you thousands of dollars every year.
Then you should NOT get a pet. A pet cannot support itself financially, it relies on the owner to pay for its needs.


Please think carefully before getting a pet, make sure you are committed to your pet for the rest of its life. Never buy or adopt a pet on impulse, many pets are abandoned because the owners could not commit
'Pets are for life. Think before you have one.' Leaflet

Types of pets

“What kind of pet should I get?”

Choosing the right pet

It is important to choose a pet that is most suitable for you. You will gain the most from a pet whose needs, temperament and personality are compatible with your lifestyle, physical capabilities and budget. When selecting a pet, ask yourself the following questions.

  1. Do you prefer to stay indoors or enjoy going out?

    If you spend most of your time at home, then you should consider getting a cat, chinchilla, hamster, rabbit or reptile. These pets are happy to stay indoors. If you enjoy daily activities outside of your home and are more active, then a dog might be suitable for you. Dogs enjoy outdoor exercises such as walking and running.

Dog owner walking with a dog

  1. Are there young children or elderly people in your home?

    If there are kids or elderly people in your home, you should consider the size and energy level of the pet. Chinchillas, hamsters and rabbits are very delicate, kids might not know how to handle these animals with care and might accidentally injure them. Large-sized dogs might accidentally knock down elderly people.

A lady holding a chinchilla

  1. Are there other pets in your home already?

    If you already have a pet in your home, consider carefully whether your existing pet will be able to adjust to the introduction of another animal into your home. Some pets may enjoy the company of another animal; others may feel jealous and resentful for having to share the owner’s love and attention.

Two pets at home

  1. Do you have very high standards about the cleanliness and tidiness of your home?

    If you require your home to be very neat, then you may consider choosing pets that are confined to a cage or a designated area, such as chinchillas, hamsters, rabbits or reptiles. Dogs and long-haired cats might not be suitable for you. Also bear in mind that most pets with fur shed loose hairs.

A hamster

  1. How much money are you willing to spend on your pet?

    Depending on the type of pet you get, the cost of keeping different pets can vary. It is advisable to consult a pet store or seek advice from existing pet owners about the estimated cost of keeping a certain type of pet.

A man and lady in a pet shop

  1. How much time and attention can you give to your pet?

    Different pets have different needs. Some pets such as dogs enjoy company and love interaction with humans. Dogs might bark frequently if left alone for many hours; whereas cats are content to be left alone. If you have long working hours and are always out, a cat might be a better choice for you.

A lady playing with a cat

  1. Are you willing and able to provide the necessary care to meet your pet’s specific needs?

    Some pets such as rabbits need their cages cleaned more than once per day and long-haired pets require regular grooming such as brushing and trimming. Dogs require walking and company. Learn as much as you can about the pet’s needs before getting one. Some pets also require regular health checks and vaccinations, you should be prepared to bring them to a vet for regular checkups. When your pet is sick, you should also bring it to a vet for treatment and provide adequate care.

A man brushing his cat's hair

  1. Do you prefer an affectionate pet or one that is happy to be on its own?

    Like human beings, different pets also have their own unique temperaments and personalities. If you want to be greeted passionately each time you come home, a dog might be suitable for you. If you prefer your pet to be more independent and quiet, a cat might be a better choice for you.

A happy cat

  1. Do you prefer a pet that can be trained to obey your commands?

    Some pets such as cats, resist training. Most dogs, on the other hand, enjoy training as it gives them something to do and they have an inborn desire to please their masters..

A lady with a cat

  1. How will your neighbours feel about your new pet?

    If you are getting a dog, make sure it won’t bark frequently as this might disturb your neighbours. Remember to be considerate at all times by abiding by the law, cleaning up after your pets and control your pets properly in public places so that they won’t cause nuisances to others.

A dog owner picking up the dog's poo

飼養寵物前

飼養寵物前

考慮事項

毛絲鼠 (龍貓), 倉鼠, 龜(烏龜), 蜥蝪, 兔子及貓

「我是否適合成為寵物主人?」

飼養寵物前,請回答下列問題。

1. 你的居所是否允許飼養寵物?

飼養寵物前,請務必徵求物業管理處或業主立案法團的意見,了解你居住的樓宇/屋苑是否允許飼養。
這種情況下你不應飼養寵物。房委會資助房屋小組委員會於2003年9月25日,決定維持不准在公共房屋養狗的限制。因此,所有在香港的公共房屋都是禁止飼養狗隻的。不少私人物業亦禁止飼養狗隻或其他寵物。
住宅


2. 你的家是否有足夠空間容納寵物?

寓所
請確保家中有足夠的空間,使寵物能自由活動,且能提供寵物友善的環境。對不同類型的動物而言,牠們所需的空間亦不盡相同。大型狗隻需要更多空間四處奔跑,貓或其他小型哺乳類寵物需要的空間則較小。
如你家中空間狹窄,無法讓寵物自由活動,或家庭成員不喜歡寵物,或對寵物過敏,那麼你未必適合飼養寵物。


3. 是否所有家庭成員都同意飼養寵物?

這就好。如果你能在飼養寵物之前先得到所有家人的同意,家人會感到被尊重,這能使他們更容易接受新成員加入。
這種情況下你不應飼養寵物。你與家庭成員可能會因為寵物而發生衝突。
女孩和和小貓玩耍


4. 你是否已準備好照顧寵物的一生?

一隻年老的貓
如你決定飼養寵物,請確保自己能為寵物的一生負責,視乎寵物的類型而定,牠的壽命可長達幾年至十數年,或更長。寵物與人一樣,亦會生病,尤其在老年階段,屆時,你應帶寵物看獸醫,並時刻為寵物提供適當的照料。
這種情況下你不應飼養寵物。視乎寵物的類型而定,有些寵物的壽命可長達15年或以上。如你無法作出照顧寵物一生的承諾,請不要飼養寵物。


5. 你是否有時間照顧寵物?

你應確保你有足夠的時間照顧寵物。你每天將需要拿出多達幾個小時的時間餵養寵物,並且,依據你所飼養的寵物的類型,你可能還需要為寵物洗澡、梳理毛髮、帶寵物外出散步、訓練寵物、與寵物運動以及嬉戲。
這種情況下你不應飼養寵物。寵物需要關注和照顧,如你沒有時間,你不應飼養寵物。
主人正在照顧小貓


6. 你能否負擔飼養寵物的費用?

獸醫正在檢查小貓
請確保你有預留金錢作為寵物的相關開支。你需要為寵物支付其在食物、日用品、獸醫帳單等方面的費用。寵物每年可能消耗你大量金錢。
這種情況下你不應飼養寵物。寵物無法在經濟方面自給自足,寵物完全依賴主人支付牠的各種需要。


飼養寵物前請認真考慮清楚,你應確保你會照顧牠一生。切勿因一時衝動而購買或領養寵物,很多寵物因為主人其後改變主意而慘遭遺棄。
'照顧佢一生 停停先諗真'的單張

動物種類

「我應該飼養哪種類型的寵物?」

選擇合適的寵物

選擇適合你的寵物十分重要。如果寵物的需求、性情及性格與你的生活方式、身體情況及預算配合,你將透過飼養寵物獲得最大的樂趣。飼養寵物前,請回答下列問題。

  1. 你較喜歡留在室內還是更享受出外活動?

    如你多數時間待在家中,你應考慮飼養貓、龍貓、倉鼠、兔子或爬行動物。這些寵物喜歡待在室內環境。如你更喜歡戶外活動,狗隻應該更適合你。狗隻喜歡散步及奔跑等戶外活動。

狗主帶狗隻到戶外散步

  1. 你的家中是否有小童或長者?

    如你家中有小童或長者,你應考慮寵物的體型大小及精力水平。龍貓、倉鼠和兔子身體非常脆弱,小童可能不懂得如何小心地對待這些動物,而會無意地傷害到牠們。大型狗隻可能會意外地撞倒長者。

寵物主人與龍貓

  1. 你家中是否已有其他寵物?

    如你家中已有寵物,請認真考慮現有的寵物能否適應新來的動物。有些寵物喜歡其他動物的陪伴;有些則會心生嫉妒,不願與其他動物分享主人的寵愛及關注。

貓和兔

  1. 你對家中清潔和整潔的標準是否很高?

    如你要求家中非常整潔,可考慮選擇在籠子或特定範圍飼養的寵物,例如龍貓、倉鼠、兔子或爬行動物。狗隻和長毛貓可能不適合你。請記住,多數有軟毛的寵物都會掉毛。

倉鼠

  1. 你願意為飼養寵物付出多少金錢?

    飼養不同寵物的開支不盡相同,具體視乎寵物的類型而定。我們建議你諮詢寵物店,或向現有的寵物主人徵求意見,以了解飼養特定類型的寵物的估計費用。

寵物店店員與寵物主人在寵物店內交談

  1. 你能為寵物投入多少時間和關注?

    不同類型的寵物有不同的需求。例如,狗隻喜歡與人相伴,並熱衷與人類互動。如果你將狗隻長時間地獨自留在家中,牠可能會經常吠叫;貓則不介意獨自在家。如你工作時間較長,又經常外出,貓或許是更好的選擇。

寵物主人與貓玩耍

  1. 你是否願意並能夠提供必要的關懷照料,以滿足寵物的特定需求?

    例如,你需要每天清潔兔子的籠子一次以上。另外,你需要為長毛寵物定期護理其毛髮,比如梳理及修剪牠的毛髮。狗需要外出散步和陪伴。飼養寵物前,你應儘量學習有關寵物的需要的知識。某些寵物需要定期檢查身體並注射疫苗,你應做好準備,定期帶寵物看獸醫。如寵物生病,你亦應帶牠赴獸醫處接受治療,並為牠提供充分的照料。

寵物主人為貓梳毛

  1. 你喜歡依戀人的寵物還是獨立的寵物?

    與人類一樣,不同的寵物亦有自己獨特的性情和性格。如你希望回到家時得到寵物熱情的歡迎,養狗可能更適合你。如你較喜歡獨立且安靜的寵物,貓可能是較好的選擇。

開心的貓

  1. 你是否喜歡經訓練後能服從命令的寵物?

    某些寵物會抗拒訓練,例如貓。另一方面,多數狗隻也享受訓練,因為訓練令牠們有事做,亦符合牠們愛取悅主人的天性。

一位女士與貓

  1. 鄰居會對你的新寵物有何意見?

    如你打算養狗,應確保狗隻不會經常吠叫,否則會騷擾到鄰居。請牢記要時刻為他人著想,透過遵守法律、清理狗隻的排泄物並在公眾地方妥善管束寵物,使牠不會對他人造成滋擾。

寵物主人為狗隻清理其排泄物